THE seedings have been chosen for the 2014 Baker Cup – the Taunton area’s own 20/20 cricket competition.

Once again the higher-rated local sides are exempt from the preliminary round of the main competition.

The cup has for some time now used a seeding pattern to differentiate between West of England Premier League sides and others in an attempt to ‘protect’ certain aspects of the competition set-up, such as the Terry Mockridge Memorial Shield which all Baker Cup preliminary and first round losing sides go into.

For 2014 the WEPL configuration has produced the following eight seeded teams – Ashcott and Shapwick (Premier 1), Bishops Lydeard (Somerset), Chard (Premier 2), Ilminster A (Premier 2), Staplegrove A (Somerset), Taunton (Bristol and Somerset), Taunton Deane A (Premier 1) and Taunton St Andrews (Premier 1).

Although two other WEPL Somerset Division sides – Wellington and North Petherton – are also competing they are not seeded because their length of service in the WEPL is less than those sides from the same division who are seeded for 2014.