TIVERTON moved into the second round of the Parker Trophy – Devon's inter-club scratch knock-out tournament – after an excellent fightback against Woodbury Park at Axe Cliff.

All three pairs were losing with two holes to play but Tiverton managed to run out 2½-½ winners on the quirky cliff-top course at Seaton.

Harry Konig (0) and Rhys Cruse (1) were two up with five to play, lost three holes on the trot to be 1 down after 16 but then won the last two to triumph 1 up against Peter Lawrence and Jon Veale.

Simon Waddington (2) and Jim Bray (2) were 2 down with four to play before winning the 15th, 17th and 18th against David Cockayne and John Anderson to secure Tiverton’s second point and overall victory.

Tony Allsopp (3) and Tom Trowbridge (3) won the 17th to go all-square against Simon Kirby and Paul Mullerworth and, with Tiverton's progress already confirmed, they shook hands on a half after both pairs found the 18th green.

Tiverton now meet East Devon at a venue yet to be announced.

Tiverton begin their Palairet Trophy campaign with a second-round clash against Churston at Dawlish Warren on Sunday.

Three Tiverton players have been selected for the Devon ladies’ squad for South West Inter Counties Match Week at Yeovil from June 9 to 13.

Jess Bradley, Abbie Moyes and Grace Jackson are part of the 12-strong squad.

Bradley, who is studying at Lynn University in Florida, has just become the first woman to be named NCAA (National Collegiate Athletic Association) Division Two Player of the Year in the USA.

She also became only the second woman to be named the Sunshine State Conference Golfer of the Year.

Bradley finished runner-up in the NCAA Division II National Championship last week, shooting a four-over total of 288 over 72 holes.

It was her 13th top-10 finish of the season and the 25th of her career – both records – and helped Lynn win the national team title for the second successive year.

Emily Vickery carded a four-under nett 70 to win the ladies’ May Medal on Wednesday.

The youngster had her handicap cut from 30 to 28 after topping Bronze Division Two by 11 shots from Marg Sampson.

Alison Hilton claimed the Silver Division prize with 76, pipping Oki Northwood on a countback.

Ladies’ captain Karen Allsopp scored 75 to lead the way in Bronze Division One, finishing three clear of Pauline Hussey.

The event doubled up as the first round of the 36-hole Silver and Bronze Cups, which reach a conclusion on Monday.

Results: Silver Division – 1 Alison Hilton (93-17=76); 2 Oki Northwood (95-19=76); 3 Jane Gould (93-16=77). Bronze Division One – 1 Karen Allsopp (97-22=75); 2 Pauline Hussey (106-28=78); 3 Jackie Slocombe (106-27=79). Bronze Division Two – 1 Emily Vickery (100-30=70); 2 Marg Sampson (114-33=81); 3 Carol Clarke (119-35=84).

Shirley Ward and Maureen Postles posted 38 Stableford points to win the ladies’ Club Foursomes. Anne Franklin and Jackie Slocombe (33) finished second ahead of Chris Bacon and Jo Lloyd-Davies (33) and Marg Sampson and Kay Leach (32).

The President’s Trophy I team followed up their 5½-1½ win at home to Teign Valley with a 5-2 victory away at Yelverton.

Maureen Postles (7 and 5), Sue Norris (1 up), Marian Stevens (1 up), Lesley Crossley (3 and 1) and Sheila Ball (1 up) triumphed against Teign Valley, with Caroline Anderson gaining the half point.

Postles (7 and 6), Norris (5 and 3), Stevens (4 and 2), Ball (3 and 2) and Judy Phripp (5 and 4) were the winners against Yelverton on Tuesday.

David Jack and Kay Leach posted 38 Stableford points to win the George Carver Salver mixed greensomes event on Bank Holiday Monday, beating Andy Kilbride and Marg Sampson on a countback.