TIVERTON were knocked out of the Parker Trophy after an agonising play-off defeat to a strong East Devon side at Sidmouth on Wednesday.

Tiverton slipped to a 2-1 loss in the second round of Devon’s inter-club scratch knock-out tournament after Jim Bray and Cameron Bundy were edged out on the 21st hole.

First pair Rhys Cruse and Harry Konig fought back from 4 down on the front nine but lost on the 17th when David Blick holed from off the green to give he and Paul Newcombe a 2 and 1 victory.

Final pair Tony Allsopp and Tom Trowbridge put Tiverton on level terms when they defeated Leigh Jones and Fraser Hasell 3 and 2.

Bray and Bundy had been 3 up early on and returned to 1 up with two to play against Jacob Tinsley and Harry Nodwell, but a three-putt on the 17th enabled the East Devon pair to finish all-square.

The first two play-off holes were halved in par but Nodwell tipped the balance East Devon’s way when he chipped in for a four on the 3rd.

Robert Binding shot a stunning eight-under nett 63 to win the men's John Goggs Bowl on Saturday.

Binding, who parred five of the first six holes, had his handicap chopped from 18 to 15 after topping Division Two by six from Tony Wood-Wright.

Jimmy Heard carded a 66 to win the Division One prize on a countback from Neil Megarry, with Colin Carey and Alex Gibson both on 68.

Results: Division One – 1 Jimmy Heard (76-10=66); 2 Neil Megarry (74-8=66); 3 Colin Carey (82-14=68); 4 Alex Gibson (77-9=68); 5 Jay Buckingham (79-10=69); 6 Keith Williams (75-6=69). Division Two – 1 Robert Binding (81-18=63); 2 Tony Wood-Wright (86-17=69); 3 Joe Heard (87-17=70); 4 Steve Jack (88-18=70); 5 Neville Taylor (86-15=71); 6 Stephen Bazley (87-16=71).

Rhys Cruse reached a handicap of +1 after finishing second in the 36-hole Saunders Cup at Trevose, Cornwall, on Sunday.

The 22-year-old had rounds of 72 and 73 for a total of 145, which earned a handicap cut from +0.2 to +0.8.

Cruse came second in the nett event and third in the scratch to claim £260 in prize money.

Fellow Tiverton player Harry Konig was third in the nett and fourth in the scratch after scores of 72 and 74.

Karen Allsopp had her handicap cut from 22 to 20 after winning the ladies’ June Stableford on Wednesday with 41 points.

The ladies’ captain finished five ahead of Liz Hall in Bronze Division One, with Angela Short third on 35.

Charlotte Snow secured the Silver Division prize with 35, ahead of Jo Lloyd-Davies (34) and Maureen Postles (32).

Carol Clarke was the top player in Bronze Division Two with 33, followed by Ann Fielding (32) and Chris Coombes (31).

The qualifiers for the Warren Crocus competition at Dawlish were Postles and Alison Hilton (32) in the Silver Division and Allsopp and Diana Hollis (24) in the Bronze Division.

The ladies picked up another victory in the Sheelah Creasy Bowl when they won 4-3 away at Highbullen on Tuesday.

Tony Evans posted a nett 70 to win the veterans’ Summer Trophy on Tuesday, pipping Ian Brierley on a countback.

Evans recovered from a nine on the 1st and also had five sevens, but five pars in the last ten holes helped him to victory and a handicap cut from 27 to 26.

Results: 1 Tony Evans (97-27=70); 2 Ian Brierley (76-6=70); 3 David Holland (91-20=71); 4 Mike Eastmond (82-10=72); 5 Derrick Barrett (85-12=73); 6 Gerry Franklin (83-10=73).

Dave Buxton and Rob Hagley posted a score of 333 to win the nine-hole social golf event, following the Daytona format.

The next Friday evening fun event is a four-club competition on July 25.

There are still tickets available for the evening entertainment on Captain’s Day tomorrow.