COMPETING in the national crosscountry relays in Mansfield at the weekend, Taunton Athletics Club’s young endurance athletes demonstrated they are more than capable of competing with bigger clubs at national level by taking silver in the Under-15s boys age group against over 100 clubs from across the country. 

Sam Cobb, Sam Ponter and Joe Ponter flew the flag for Taunton, with Cobb taking the team out at the start.

And he did a fantastic job, getting the team among the leading clubs over the 2k loop. 

He handed over to Ponter in 11th place who had a stunning leg, pulling the team up to third.

Next up was his brother, Joe, who further improved the position to silver, finishing 10 seconds behind the Woodford Green and Essex Ladies AC club and making a little bit of Taunton AC club history at the same time.

Another outstanding performance came from Taunton AC’s Archie Walton, who clocked one of the fastest times of the day in the Under-20s men’s age group, to anchor Loughborough University, where he is currently studying, to an unexpected team win in a close-fought finish.

There were also pleasing debut performances at national level competition by the club’s Under-13s boys team of Daniel Fisher, Max Earp and Archie Dowson finishing 37th from around teams. 

And the Under-15s girls team of Lucy Crossman, Charlotte Brown and Robyn Laing were justifiably delighted with their 60th place from around 100 teams.

There were also some good individual performances from Morgan Curry, Tom Cave, Oscar Lee, Max Watson and Talullah Watson.


THERE were a few events locally this weekend which allowed Running Forever members to support other local clubs.

However, Simon Denson travelled a little further afield by making the trip to New York to take part in their iconic marathon.

A sterling performance on the streets of Manhattan saw Simon finish in 3hr 30min.

Six members took part in the Gordano Marathon, organised by Portishead Running Club.

Ali Bisatt was first club member home, taking 4.30, while the other Famous Five of Bev Collins, Peter Hall, Emma Perkins, Andy Burgess and Chris Gunn ran all the way together for a time of 5.48.

Trevor Stow popped down to Newton Abbot for the Teignbridge Trotters Templar 10, completing in 1.26.

At Bideford’s 10-miler, Ray Tutton set a cracking pace for a 1.11 finish; not far behind was Dave Bullock in 1.19.

Goff Welchman, Rob Murr and Carl Moppett all finished in 1.29, while next home was Sally Tuer (1.33), then Joanne Toogood (1.41) and Gill Taunton (1.42); Cathie Welchman and Mary Rousseau crossed the line in 1.52 with Pauline Porter just a minute behind.


IAN Salter was the first Hydro Harrier home at a soggy Longrun Meadow last Saturday, finishing in 20min 2sec.

He was followed by Rowland Lyons, managing a new course and year’s best of 23:20, and Charlotte Norman was over the line in 28:05. 

Meanwhile, Andy White braved hilly Ashton Court, running an impressive 21:47.


HANNAH Taunton finished as first lady in her first ever 10-mile race in Bideford, with a fabulous time of 1hr 35 sec.


TAUNTON Running Club sent an array of competitors to last weekend's Bideford 10-miler.

Thirty-nine runners from the club took part, and their results were as follows:

Ross Brayley 01:12:16, Luke Merchant 01:12:52, Chris Gibbs 01:17:37, Chris Wyatt 01:17:18, James Pither 01:18:47, Ashley Stewart 01:18:46, Darren Wakefield 01:21:50, Ian Stone 01:24:26, Emma Hopkins 01:25:43, Steve Curtis 01:25:38, Sally Curtis 01:25:39, Haydn North 01:25:51, David Hewton 01:27:04, Rob Greenslade 01:28:09, Jo Lowe 01:29:39, Sam Adams 01:30:16, Tasmin Ackland 01:30:45, Paul Cooper 01:31:24, Caroline Barratt 01:31:51, Helen Robson 01:34:37, Anna White 01:34:38, Jane Jordan 01:35:23, Kathryn Kemendi 01:35:57, Tim May 01:35:52, Audrey Mansfield 01:40:47, Claire Martin 01:45:15, Clare Stone 01:45:18, Agnieszka Kawka 01:45:39, Samantha Safe 01:47:11, Tracie Bosher 01:46:33, Kerry Eiserbeck 01:47:35, Caroline Blair 01:47:35, Kirsty Budge 01:48:09, Alan Shorney 01:49:28, Amy Maunder 01:50:46, Michael Sharpe 01:50:31, Denise Poole 01:51:35, Adele McLean 01:55:57, Donna Adams 02:06:43