MORE than 160 people attended the Somerset Activity and Sports Partnership annual awards at The Cooper Associates County Ground, Taunton, on Friday.

The awards, organised by Somerset Activity and Sports Partnership, celebrate inspirational volunteers, outstanding coaches, talented athletes and high quality and friendly clubs from across the county.

SASP chief executive Jane Knowles opened the proceedings and introduced ITV correspondent Ben McGrail, the host for the evening.

There were more than 80 nominations across 12 categories.

Ms Knowles said: "As a county sports partnership, it is important to recognise the tireless efforts of those involved in sport and activity.

"Volunteers are the backbone of community sport and without them sport cannot function.

"Great coaches not only support athletes to realise their potential but help to create an important lifelong love of sport and physical activity."


Young Coach of the Year, Curtis Bradley, of Huish Tigers Football Club; Children's Coach of the Year, Hannah Hughes, of Taunton Deane Cricket Club; Participation Coach of the Year, Stuart Disney, of Mendip Golf Club; Young Volunteer of the Year, Abbi Rose Wheaton, of Chard Hockey Club; Club Volunteer of the Year, Lorraine Warren, of Staplegrove Cricket Club; Club of the Year, Ilminster Bowling and Tennis Club; Get Somerset Active, Dawn Self, Sally Lukins, Jodene Hall and Rhianne Cooper, of Sedgemoor Striders; Contribution to School or College Sport, Tatworth Primary School; Active Workplace, Jodie Williamson, of Somerset Partnership NHS Foundation Trust; This Girl Can, Maria Nichols, of Bridgwater YMCA; Sports Performer of the Year, Sam Cobb, of GB pentathlon; TS5C Young Sports Person of the Year, Brodie Williams, Corey Walkes, Jessica Cooksey and Joe Nelson.