FOUR people have put their names forward to be a councillor.

A vacancy opened on Somerset West and Taunton Council after the sad passing of long-term representative Jean Adkins.

She had served as a councillor since 2007, originally as a Conservative, but more recently as an Independent.

The long-term councillor won her seat again in the May elections for the new council, but sadly was too ill to attend any of the council meetings.

Following her death, a seat was left vacant on the council to represent the Norton Fitzwarren and Staplegrove ward, with a by election set to take place on Thursday, October 3.

Four people have put their names forward to win the seat.

They are: Alan Debenham (Green), Michael McGuffie (Labour), Andy Sully (Lib Dem) and Rod Williams (Conservative).

An election has also been called for the Vivary ward on the council. 

The nominees are: Sharon Fussell (Con), Robert Noakes (Lab), Marguerite Paffard (Green), Derek Perry (Lib Dem), and Neil Rudram (Ind).

This election will take place on Thursday, September 19. 

Applications to register to vote must reach the Electoral Registration Officer by midnight on Tuesday September 17, 2019.

Applications can be made online: