A GREEN party candidate will not be standing in the next General Election after a pact between the Liberal Democrats has been announced.

Clive Martin had been selected to stand for Taunton Deane on December 12, but will no longer be putting his name forward.

Mr Martin is one of 43 Green or Plaid Cymru candidates to step aside as part of the 'Unite to Remain' agreement.

The Liberal Democrats will stand aside, so that there is a clear pro-Remain candidate in 13 constituencies, in turn, in 43 constituencies other parties will stand aside for a Liberal Democrat candidate.

Leader of the Liberal Democrats Jo Swinson said: “I am delighted that this arrangement will help elect more pro-remain MPs in the next Parliament.

“In the 43 seats agreed today, as well as hundreds more across the country, it is clear that the Liberal Democrats are the strongest party of Remain.

“A vote for the Liberal Democrats is a vote to stop Brexit, so that we can invest the £50bn Remain bonuses in our public services and build a brighter future.”

Mr Martin said this is something he reluctantly agreed to do, as the local Green Party response to the plan was overwhelming.

He said: "Obviously it would be good if this was an election about the climate emergency but I think our leadership and this Unite to Remain alliance has collectively taken the view, rightly or wrongly, that it will be about Brexit.

"Personally I feel Brexit would be an absolute disaster for the country.

"I have reluctantly agreed to stand aside, it's not a personal decision.

"I was asked and it was consulted among our local green party members and the response was overwhelming.

"This does seem to me to be the right road to be going down."

Lib Dem prospective parliamentary candidate for Taunton Deane, Gideon Amos, said: “I’m delighted to welcome the support of the Green Party in their decision to stand down in the Taunton Deane constituency. Our LibDem planet positive agenda for the District was central to the LibDems winning the Council elections in this constituency back in May.

"We have a far reaching plan to tackle the climate emergency and have begun by banning fracking and introducing funding for vehicle charging."

Constituencies in England where the Green Party will contest seats: Brighton, Pavilion, Isle of Wight, Bristol West, Bury St Edmunds, Stroud, Dulwich and West Norwood, Forest of Dean, Cannock Chase, Exeter (9)

Constituencies in England where the Liberal Democrats will contest seats: Bath, Bermondsey and Old Southwark, Buckingham, Cheadle, Chelmsford, Chelsea and Fulham, Cheltenham, Chippenham, Esher and Walton, Finchley and Golders Green, Guildford, Harrogate and Knaresborough, Hazel Grove, Hitchin and Harpenden, North Cornwall, North Norfolk, Oxford West and Abingdon, Penistone and Stocksbridge, Portsmouth South, Richmond Park, Romsey and Southampton, North Rushcliffe, South Cambridgeshire, South East Cambridgeshire, South West Surrey, Southport, Taunton Deane, Thornbury and Yate, Totnes, Tunbridge Wells, Twickenham, Wantage, Warrington South, Watford, Wells, Westmorland and Lonsdale, Wimbledon, Winchester, Witney ,York,

Constituencies in Wales where the Green Party will contest seats: Vale of Glamorgan (1)

Constituencies in Wales where the Liberal Democrats will contest seats: Brecon and Radnorshire, Cardiff Central, Montgomeryshire (3)

Constituencies in Wales where Plaid Cymru will contest seats: Arfon, Caerphilly, Carmarthen East and Dinefwr Dwyfor, Meirionnydd, Llanelli, Pontypridd, Ynys Môn (7)

The Liberal Democrats are also stepping down in the following areas: Beaconsfield, Broxtowe, Luton South.

A number of politicians have stated their intention to stand in the Taunton Deane constituency at the General Election on Thursday, December 12.

Gideon Amos has been the Liberal Democrats' Prospective Parliamentary Candidate for some time.

Liam Canham has been announced as the Labour candidate.

John Hunt has announced on Facebook that he is standing as an Independent candidate.

Sitting MP Rebecca Pow will stand for the Conservatives hoping to win her third election.

And Dr Penny Rowson will put herself forward as the Brexit candidate.

(For impartiality we have listed the candidates in alphabetical order of their surname).

The deadline for nominations is 4pm on Thursday, November 14.

NOTE: Comments have been removed from this story due to the continual posting of libellous comments regarding the Lib Dem leader and the EU - please see this story from the BBC for clarification: https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/blogs-trending-50160148