A NUMBER of Somerset residents are part of this year's New Years Honours List. They join many famous faces such as Lewis Hamilton, Craig David, Sheila Hancock, Sally Dynevor, Nina Wadia and more.

Somerset residents who have received awards are as follows:

Members of the Order of the British Empire (MBE)

Emma Cobley. Principal, Foxes Academy Residential SEN College. For services to Young People with Special Educational Needs and Disabilities. (Minehead, Somerset)

Rebecca Cobbin MBE. Family Jurisdictional Support Manager, H.M. Courts and Tribunals Service. For services to the Administration of Justice. (Evercreech, Somerset)

Leonard Arnold Daniels. For services to the community in Somerset. (Taunton, Somerset)

Wayne Mark Darch. Head of Operations, Emergency Preparedness, Resilience, Response and Specialist Practice, South Western Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust. For services to the Emergency Services and to the Covid-19 Response. (Frome, Somerset)

Dr Fiona Claire Carlyon Dempsey. Consultant, Intensive Care Medicine and Anaesthesia, Somerset NHS Foundation Trust. For services to the NHS. (Taunton, Somerset)

Karen Deverell. Chief Executive, Mendip YMCA. For services to Young People in Somerset. (Wells, Somerset)

Katherine Sian Dodd. For services to Hockey. (Langport, Somerset)

Caroline Halfhide. For services to the community in Martock, Somerset during the Covid-19 Response. (Martock, Somerset)

Robert Heard. For services to the Arts and to Charitable Fundraising. (Watchet, Somerset)

Mark Craig Pilkington. Combat System Engineer, Defence, Equipment and Support, Ministry of Defence. For services to Naval Operational Capability. (Langport, Somerset)

Geoffrey Crabb. For services to the Scouts in Templecombe, Somerset. (Templecombe, Somerset)

Peter William Elmont. Chair, Weston-Super-Mare Fundraising Branch, Royal National Lifeboat Institution. For charitable services to Maritime Safety. (Weston-super-Mare, Somerset)

Simon Ian Hoar. For services to the community in Babcary, Somerset. (Somerton, Somerset)

John Charles Jasper. Volunteer, Coldharbour Mill Working Wool Museum and Wellington Arts Association. For services to Cultural Heritage in Devon and Somerset. (Wellington, Somerset)

Margaret Ann Simmons-Bird. Director of Education Transformation, Bath and North East Somerset Council. For services to Education. (Bristol)

Joshua Hale. For services to the community in Bath, Somerset during the Covid-19 Response. (Bath, Somerset)

Queen’s Police Medal (QPM)

Superintendent Andrew Philip Bennett. Avon and Somerset Police. (Somerset)

Nikki Watson. Assistant Chief Constable, Avon and Somerset Police. (Somerset)

Order of the Bath

Dr Josephine Maria Farrar OBE. Chief Executive Officer, HM Prison and Probation Service. For public service. (Bath, Somerset)

Carole Mary Stott MBE. Lately Chair, Association of Colleges and Find a Future. For services to Education. (Bath, Somerset)