The gallery at Hestercombe House is marking a decade since it first opened its doors to the public with a new exhibition.

Running from Saturday, March 23 to Sunday, July 7, the exhibition, Decennium, will reflect on a decade of creativity and display at the gallery, which is near Taunton.

Since its launch in May 2014, the gallery has hosted the work of over 400 artists, from Turner Prize winners to fine art graduates.


Read more: Eliot Court Taunton new operator by Somerset Council


The gallery has housed 38 exhibitions, serving as a celebrated spot for both families and students, as well as community groups.

The gallery has been named one of the '10 best rural art galleries in the UK'.

Decennium plans to feature the work of over twenty artists, showcasing a range of artistic mediums, from film, painting and sculpture to drawing, photography and collage.

The programme looks to highlight contemporary artworks previously acquired for the Hestercombe House and Gardens Collection, now a UK accredited museum, while also introducing new and recent works from artists who have displayed at Hestercombe previously.

Among the featured exhibits will be work by Tania Kovats, the first solo exhibitor at Hestercombe in 2014, and pieces from Helen Sear's Venice Biennale collection developed in 2018, where she represented Wales.

Also displayed will be works by Simon Faithfull, Alex Hartley, Liz Nicol and Oliver Sutherland, who in 2018 responded to Hestercombe’s architectural design, the work of Sir Edwin Lutyens.

The artist-in-residence programme, a key feature of Hestercombe, will also be highlighted, featuring work from the first resident, Jo Lathwood, along with contributions from long-term collaborators Philippa Lawrence, Sarah Bennett and Megan Calver.

Decennium also promises to showcase Feral Practice’s investigative pieces into species living on the estate and Trish Morrissey’s recreations of past female owners.

Additional artists contributing to the exhibition include Susan Derges, John Newling, Brendan Barry, Sophy Rickett, Lucy Soni, Fiona Hingston, Simon Bayliss, Rebecca Partridge, and Gabrielle Hoad.