GIDEON Amos said he “will be a strong and resilient voice for the people of Taunton and Wellington” after being elected MP in what he described as a “historic victory” for the Lib Dem party.

The Lib Dem won with 24,331 votes, followed by the Conservative candidate Rebecca Pow who received 12,292 votes.

Reform UK came in third place, followed by Labour and the Green Party.

Communist Party candidate Rochelle Russell received 134 votes.

Mr Amos said he will work for “a new era of optimism”.

He also said: “This is a historic victory for the Lib Dems across the country.

“I know the change you want to see – the NHS, social care, cost-of-living crisis, end of sewage being pumped into our rivers.

“I will work to make that change happen. I will be a strong and resilient voice for the people of Taunton and Wellington.

“I want to work with local businesses and organisations. I want us all to come together to promote our beautiful garden town and the assets Wellington has to offer for a new era of optimism.”

Rebecca Pow speaking after the results were announcedRebecca Pow speaking after the results were announced (Image: Newsquest)

Conservatives candidate Rebecca Pow said she was “proud to have had the honour to be an MP,” and “achieve a great deal” and she remembered the progress made in upgrading Taunton railway station and Musgrove Hospital.

She also added: “Good luck to everybody, good luck to our future generations, because it is them we need to think about.”

Rachel Gilmour and Gideon AmosRachel Gilmour and Gideon Amos (Image: Newsquest)


Another Lib Dem candidate, Rachel Gilmour, also celebrated this morning after winning the Tiverton and Minehead seat.

She said: “The most important thing for an MP is being accessible. Accessibility has previously been a problem.

“I can’t be a good MP unless I know what matters to my constituency. I will be holding surgeries, especially for farmers, and encourage the public to speak to me.”

The turnout was: 64.13 per cent; majority 11,939.

The turnout for the Tiverton and Minehead constituency was 66.2 per cent; majority 3,507.