The Outlaws is set to return for a third series on the BBC very soon, with the gang once again having to get themselves out of a tricky situation.

Created by Stephen Merchant and Elgin James, the programme follows a group of people from vastly different backgrounds who are doing community service together in Bristol.

They manage to be caught up in real criminal activities and soon have to pay back a crime boss called The Dean.

At the end of series two, the group managed to pull together a plan to get The Dean arrested but complications soon arise.

A synopsis on WhatToWatch reads: "With crime boss The Dean behind bars awaiting trial, The Outlaws are moving on with their lives - until one of their own returns with a deadly secret, hurling them back into mortal danger.

"As a murder manhunt closes in on the gang, can they prove their innocence before The Dean's case collapses and he comes looking for revenge?"

One major star included in the show has been Christopher Walken who played a key role in the first two series as the enigmatic loner and conman Frank.

However, whilst he will appear in the third series it will be in a greatly reduced role due to a combination of the SAG strike from last year and his busy schedule.

Discussing the reason behind his lack of screentime Merchant told the Radio Times: "Although the [SAG strike] didn't impact us, it did impact American actors.

"They weren't allowed to come over during that. Of course, that hit right when we were filming. That did make life tricky for us.

"He is back, but it was hard to fit him in with all the other things he was doing and the strike."

The Outlaws Series 3 full cast

  • Rhianne Barreto as Rani
  • Gamba Cole as Ben
  • Stephen Merchant as Greg
  • Darren Boyd as John
  • Eleanor Tomlinson as Lady Gabby
  • Clare Perkins as Myrna
  • Jessica Gunning as Diane
  • Claes Bang as The Dean
  • Christopher Walken as Frank
  • Charles Babalola as Malaki
  • Tom Hanson as Spencer
  • Ian McElhinney as John Halloran Snr.
  • Grace Calder as Sgt Haines
  • Kojo Kamara as DS Selforth
  • Rhys Yates as Smiler

Recommended reading:

  • Patrick Robinson as Sean
  • Harry Trevaldwyn as Stan
  • Silvia Presente as Tori
  • Bridgitta Roy as Rhona
  • Chelsea Edge as Sarah
  • Amanda Drew as Ruth
  • Rufus Wright as DCI Monroe
  • Jessica Boyde as Anne-Marie
  • Nicholas Rowe as Strickland

When will The Outlaws Series 3 be on TV?

The first episode of The Outlaws series 3 will air at 9pm on Thursday, May 30 on BBC One.

After that, the remaining four episodes will air in the same timeslot over the coming Thursdays.

Alternatively, all episodes will be available to watch on BBC iPlayer from May 30.