MEMBERS of the public are being asked to nominate their local neighbourhood officer, response officer, special constable, police staff member, investigator, volunteer or policing team for a Be Proud Award.

Avon and Somerset Police and Crime Commissioner Sue Mountstevens said dozens of entries have already been made, but she is calling for more people to take part.

Ms Mountstevens said: "It’s important we take the time to recognise the work of our emergency services and in particular highlight individual members or teams within the constabulary who go the extra mile.

"Many local people have already submitted nominations for their policing heroes and I am excited by the entries I’ve seen so far.

"We always welcome hearing more examples of where officers, staff and volunteers are supporting you and your local community and want you to tell us if those people are worthy of an award.

"It really means a lot to those you put forward, so please nominate anyone you feel deserves special recognition."

You can tell her and Chief Constable Andy Marsh about extraordinary individuals and policing teams and make your nomination via by January 27. Nomination forms are also available from police stations and libraries.

Ch Cons Andy Marsh said: “These Be Proud awards are a chance to publicly recognise the great work that goes on around the clock in Avon and Somerset to support victims and bring offenders to justice.

"Each week I hear great examples of extraordinary work, and it’s always particularly poignant to receive messages directly from local people who have been thankful for our support.

"I know how much it means to my officers, staff, volunteers and teams when you recognise their dedication, compassion and professionalism. Please keep sending us your nominations."

The awards categories are neighbourhood officer, response officer, investigator, police staff member, police support volunteer, special constable, policing team and the Specialist Operations Award.

Winners will be selected by an independent panel, with an awards ceremony at Cadbury House Hotel, Congresbury, on Thursday, May 17.