TAUNTON and Pickeridge hosted the St Andrews Day Trophy on Sunday a pairs competition at the end of which two teams returned to the clubhouse with 44 points. However after countback it was David and Hilary Parker who were the winners just edging in front of Gavin Whitworth and Keith Wiggins.

Three pairs scored 43, but following countback it was Mark Hexton and Alan Li who were third, Keith Glaister and Mike Saffin were fourth and Paul Thorogood and Marc Janes were fifth.

Tuesday’s Ladies Stableford saw two players scoring 40 points, at the top of Division One but following countback it was Rosie Spragg who was the winner ahead of Carol Keenan, Jane Martin-Scott was third with 36 and Fiona Snell fourth on 31.

In Division Two it was Jo Evans who was the clear winner with 45 points, five clear of second placed Claire Hannigan, Marlen ewens was third on countback from Emma Smith after both scored 38.

Congratulations to former Taunton and Pickeridge Ladies’ Captain Jill Paul who was presented with the Somerset Senior Ladies’ President’s badge for the coming year at the recent AGM at Minehead. The presentation was made by Kay Luckett of Minehead and West Somerset GC the outgoing President.

During the course of the meeting Jill was presented with the Somerset Senior Ladies Club Shield which is awarded annually to the Club which gains the most points in the three competitions during the year, and in 2023 this was won by T&P for the first time ever.

Points are given for first, second and third places in the three 18 hole competitions held and in 2023 T&P had ladies placed in each of them. 

Theresa Dowsett & Corrine Lyon were second in the Spring Better Ball at Long Sutton, Marlene Ewens, Katy Davies, and Jill Paul were third in the Summer Bowmaker at Cricket St Thomas while Jan Hill, Margaret Blackaller and Theresa Dowsett were first in the Autumn Waltzing Bowmaker at T&P.

The T&P Prize Giving that too place recently incorporated the Junior Prize Giving. The Juniors were well represented with many young golfers and their families in attendance.

During the course of the evening the trophies and shields that the Juniors had played for over the summer were presented as well as the end of season awards including the Order of Merit, Summer 9 and 18 hole eclectic, and the Most Improved Fox Cub and Junior. 

The 2023 Juniors highly successful season was reviewed and it was noted what a great job the outgoing captain Ben Newman had done and he was duly congratulated.

It was announced that the 2024 Junior Captain was going to be Alfie Sully and the Vice Captain was going to be Corey Rawle and thanks were expressed to both respectively for accepting the posts. 

The Junior Team would like to express their sincere thanks for the sponsorship received from Taunton School, the Senior Section and an individual member who sponsors the prize money for the Junior Open.