THE Ladies Section at Taunton & Pickeridge Golf Club played a nine-hole competition on Tuesday morning that was won by Bernie Hatcher with net 23.5.

Three players returned with 27.5, but following countback it was Margaret Nation who was second, Marion Mitttermair in third and Janet Smart in fourth.

Following Tuesday’s competition the Ladies Section Annual General Meeting took place in the clubhouse, during which retiring captain Jenny Bevan handed over the badge of office to incoming Jeanne Leader.

The new captain will be supported throughout her year by her vice-captain Paulette Bamberger-Worton.

The Captain’s drive-in at Taunton and Pickeridge will be taking place on Saturday, March 24 when the new captains of the Men’s, Ladies, Juniors and Seniors sections will be taking part in the competition.

The Ladies Section new season gets going in earnest with the Spring Meeting on Tuesday, April 10.

Earlier in the year Mike Hooper, the T&P Junior Section organiser, made a presentation to other junior reps at Burnham and Berrow Golf Club.

Almost two dozen clubs were represented at the evening meeting, during which Hooper talked about how academy golfers progress to playing on the course and obtaining a handicap at T&P.

He also outlined all of the work that is undertaken on Facebook, Twitter and the website to help to support and promote the T&P Junior section, which has resulted in recruiting sponsorship and advertising.


OAKE Manor Golf Club Seniors played their last Order of Merit Stableford Competition on Monday.

Seniors’ Vice Captain Colin Shepherd won Division 1 with 38 points, Colin Warnes came second with 36 points and Martin Rivers was third with 34 points.

Trevor Cook won Division 2 with 41 points, Terry Brown was second with 35 points Tony Fulker was third also with 35 points.

The overall winner of the Seniors Order of Merit for 2017/18, based on the best 3 scores in the monthly competitions, was Trevor Cook who totaled 115 points.

In equal second were Martin Rivers and Colin Shepherd with 112 points.

Steven Pinn won the Men’s Saturday Stableford scoring 40 points, Doug Yearsley came second with 36 points, Simon Lawrence was third with 35 points and Roger Goodman fourth also with 35 points.