WELLINGTON Rugby Club held their presentation evening last weekend, following a season which saw the 1st XV clinch promotion and win the Somerset Vase, writes Allyn Chetland.

They played 28 games, winning 26, with Paddy Jarman and Liam Phillips each making 26 appearances.

Alex Davey ended the season with the most points (289), and Nev Pitman the most tries (23).

The 2nd XV finished eighth in Somerset 1, with nine wins and 11 losses – beating eventual league champions Bristol Barbarians at home.

They could have easily finished in fourth place, with a few close games going against them, though they were hampered by players’ unavailability.

Pictured above, from left to right, are: back row - John Dunbar (chairman), Danny Lee (1st XV player of the year), Allyn Chetland (clubperson of the year), Liam Phillips (committee player of the year), Regan Walker (best newcomer), Graham Dawe (head coach), Chris Bullock (sponsorship); front row - Alex Davey (most improved player), Ricki Marke (2nd XV player of the year).


WIVELISCOMBE Rugby Club held their end of season dinner dance on Friday, May 11, writes Roger Bellamy.

Attending the evening were players and partners, officials, volunteers and supporters, a total in excess of 100.

Following a three-course meal, chairman Garry Sharland announced the trophy winners for the season, for their contributions on and off the field.

Peter Stone was made an honorary life member for his dedication and hard work in all areas of the club’s progress.

The players’ player of the season was Matthew Ellis, a very popular choice, while the most improved first team player was Trevor Coates.

The second XV players’ player award went to John Palk, and although the club did not run a colts team this season, several in that age group played for the club’s second XV, with Alex Cowling awarded the Dave Warren Memorial Cup for most improved colt, and Archie Brammel the colts player of the year.

Special awards went to coaches Pete and Brian Stone, captain Will Ellis, junior rugby chairman Rachael Sharland, and Rob Weaver; Sue, Monica and Sandra were thanked for their efforts, while volunteer of the year was Jamie Cook, and supporter of the year Eric Ellis.

The top points scorer for the 1st XV was Dan Quick (151 points) and top try scorer Jake Sharland (28 tries), while Will Ellis and Tom Stone played every game this season.