Baker Cup final

Taunton Deane 118-2 beat Taunton St Andrew's 117 by 8 wkts

TAUNTON Deane are the 2018 Baker Cup winners after they saw off Taunton St Andrew’s by eight wickets at a sun-drenched Cooper Associates County Ground on Tuesday evening, writes David Derrick.

TSA chose to bat first on winning the toss and found the going tough.
Opener Rob Contreras top scored with 36 and, despite starts being made by each of Jack Cooper, James Regan and Kevin Parsons, it needed Luke Poole’s late order knock of 17 to propel TSA to 117.

Deane’s bowlers were in control as Liam Redrup with 4-28 in five overs led the way, backed up by two wickets each from Harry Thomas, Tom Walsh and Rob Pryke.

Sam Loud, later named as man of the match for his run-a-ball 36, and Harry Smith, with an eventual 26, set Deane going well on their way as they added 63 first up.

Somerset County Gazette:

STAR MAN: Sam Loud. Pic: Clayton Jane

The job was completed with little fuss by Deane skipper Rob Woodman, who made an unbeaten 28, and Harry Thomas with 18 not out.

Deven Bell and Luke Poole took the wickets for Saints but they were beaten with 11 balls to spare as the Deane claimed revenge for their defeat against the same opponents in last year’s final.

Click here for the full scorecard and watch the trophy presentation below.

Both sides return to league action on Saturday, with the Saints at Downend in Premier 1 and the Deane travelling to Lansdown in Premier 2 Bristol/Somerset.