TAUNTON & Pickeridge Golf Club has been chosen for the first time to host one of the 42 European Qualifiers for the 26th Junior European Open 2018.

This qualifier will be taking at T&P on Monday, August 27, at the end of which the top two boys and one girl will win their places into the 2018 Champions Week Finals in Spain where the Finals are played over five rounds.

Those juniors wishing to enter and play can do so by visiting www.golforganiser.com

Past finalists include Luke Donald, Justin Rose, Nick Dougherty (the new anchorman at Sky Sports) and Bronte Law (twice champion in this event).

Taunton & Pickeridge Golf Club hosted the Fuller Medal on Saturday at the end of which the winner in the top division was David Chesney with a nett 66.

Two players returned with 67 but, after countback, it was Jon Foster who edged into second ahead of Kevin O’Brien who returned with the same score.

The second division was won by Mark Coleman with 67 but only after countback put him in front of David Clarke, while Keith Rees was third with 68.

Lewis Woodcock won Division 3 and also lifted the Fuller Medal with a nett 63; Glenn Brooks was second on countback from Adran Howe after both scored 67.

On Tuesday, the Ladies’ Section took part in the Jubilee Stableford, a competition for those who did not play in the Club Championship.

In the Silver Division it was Carole Rotheram who was the winner with 36 points, one ahead of second placed Mary-Jo Shepherd.

The Bronze Division was topped by Linda Knowles, who also won the Jubilee Stableford Cup with her score of 39. Pat Follett was second with 38 on countback ahead of Heather Fletcher while Senga Westwater was fourth with 37. The only two of the round was scored by Mary-Jo Shepherd.

The Stableford Competition was won by Lennox Heath with 36, two ahead of Jeanne Leader. 

The winner of the 9-hole Stableford was Ann Williams with 20, two ahead of Jean Kennedy on countback.

Chris Hayfield won the Friday Stableford at Oake Manor with an incredible 45 points, nine shots under his handicap.

Paul Scribbins came second with 41, Steven Lowe was third (also 41) and competition secretary Andy Gent was fourth with 40.

Jane Clist won Division 1 of the Ladies’ Tuesday Stableford Competition with 36, Kathy Salway was second with 35 and Bev King third with 32. 

Ladies Captain Ros Shepherd won Division 2 with a magnificent 44, the best score of the day, Karen MacKenzie was second with 43 points and Sheila Grant third with 36. Suzie Pitt won Division 3 with 34 and Jill Ramus came second with 30.

In the Wednesday midweek stableford competition, Graham Whiskin won Division 1 scoring 40, Kevin Ward was second also with 40, Steven Wright was third with 38 and Brian Trickey fourth with 37. 

Edward Winter won Division 2 with 39 on countback from Calum Pinn. Richard Crouch came third with 38 and Peter Bailey fourth with 37.