FRESH from the elation of reaching a Lord's final, Somerset resume their County Championship challenge on Tuesday as defending champions Surrey visit Taunton.

Somerset currently top Division 1 with two wins from as many matches, while Surrey have played just once in the competition so far - a draw against Essex at the Kia Oval.

Marcus Trescothick, Jack Leach and Jack Brooks - all of whom have been absent from the Royal London One-Day Cup campaign - are each named in the 13-man squad.

In form Tom Banton, who has made two centuries and two half-centuries in the 50-over competition, is also included.

Surrey, meanwhile, have eight current or former internationals in their 14-man squad.

Among them are England Ashes hopefuls Rory Burns and Ben Foakes, former Somerset favourite Dean Elgar and South African paceman Morne Morkel.

The two sides last met in Somerset's final home match of last season, when the final day was abandoned due to high winds which dislodged the covers from the wicket and saw the pitch affected by rain.

Somerset head coach Jason Kerr said: “It seems like a long time since we’ve played red-ball cricket, but we know what we need to do. It’s about reinforcing a few things from when we played at Trent Bridge in April.

“We’re on a great run at the moment and we want to continue that against last year’s champions.

"Obviously we beat them in white-ball cricket recently but this is a completely different format.

"They have only played one game and they will have had the opportunity to hone their skills over the last few days.

“The advantage that we have is that winning games gives you great confidence, no matter what format it is.

"The guys are looking forward to it and to the challenge that Surrey will represent.”

You can take advantage of free entry to any day of this match by cutting out your voucher in the current edition of the County Gazette (Thursday, May 9).

Somerset County Gazette:

Somerset squad: Tom Abell (c), Azhar Ali, Tom Banton, George Bartlett, Jack Brooks, Josh Davey, Steve Davies, Lewis Gregory, Tim Groenewald, James Hildreth, Jack Leach, Craig Overton and Marcus Trescothick

Surrey squad: Rory Burns, Gareth Batty, Scott Borthwick, Rikki Clarke, Dean Elgar, Ben Foakes, Will Jacks, Conor McKerr, Stuart Meaker, Morne Morkel, Ryan Patel, Jamie Smith, Mark Stoneman, Freddie van den Bergh.