SOMERSET have named a 13-man squad for tomorrow's Vitality Blast match away to Kent, which is due to start at 7pm at the Spitfire Ground.

This is Kent's opening fixture in the 2019 T20 competition, while Somerset are looking to make it two wins from two following last night's eight-wicket victory at Glamorgan.

There are two changes to the squad, however, due to Lewis Gregory and Jack Leach joining up with the England Test squad this weekend, ahead of the match against Ireland at Lord's next week (July 24-27).

George Bartlett and Tim Groenewald have been named in the squad by head coach Jason Kerr, with Tom Abell to captain the side in Gregory's absence.

Somerset squad to face Kent

Tom Abell (c), Babar Azam, Tom Banton, George Bartlett, James Hildreth, Tim Groenewald, Tom Lammonby, Craig Overton, Jamie Overton, Jerome Taylor, Peter Trego, Roelof van der Merwe, Max Waller.

Kent squad to face Somerset

Daniel Bell-Drummond (c), Alex Blake, Jordan Cox, Zak Crawley, Sean Dickson, Calum Haggett, Fred Klaassen, Adam Milne, Matt Milnes, Mohammad Nabi, Imran Qayyum, Ollie Robinson, Hardus Viljoen.


SEVERAL members of Somerset's T20 squad have been involved in the draft for the Euro T20 Slam, the world's first continent-based T20 cricket league.

It involves six teams, based in Ireland, Scotland and the Netherlands – Amsterdam Knights, Belfast Titans, Dublin Chiefs, Edinburgh Rocks, Glasgow Giants, and Rotterdam Rhinos.

One of Somerset's overseas signings for the Vitality Blast, Pakistan star Babar Azam, has joined Dublin Chiefs, where he will link up with England's World Cup-winning captain Eoin Morgan, as well as Mohammad Amir and Kevin O'Brien.

Peter Trego is on board at Rotterdam Rhinos, alongside the likes of Shaheen Afridi, Rashid Khan, Samit Patel, Luke Ronchi and Fakhar Zaman.

Roelof van der Merwe and Paul van Meekeren are both in the Amsterdam Knights squad, where they are joined by Varun Chopra, Hasan Ali, Imran Tahir and Shane Watson.

Former Somerset players Corey Anderson and Michael Leask have been selected to play for Edinburgh Rocks.

The competition runs from August 30 to September 22, 2019 – which means it will overlap with the end of the T20 Blast in England (group stage finale and knockout stages).