TAUNTON & Pickeridge hosted their Club Championships last weekend with all sections, Ladies, Juniors, Gents and Seniors playing in glorious conditions.

This was the time in the club’s 127 year existence that all Championships were held over the same weekend.

The new T&P Club Champion is Rob Parker, who beat Curtis Edwards in a three-hole play-off

Parker has finished second on five occasions and third three times so the title is all the sweeter.

The Nett Club Champion is David Chesney.

The Junior Club Champion is Bailey Langford, while the Junior nett Championship was won by Finn Buckley.

Ladies’ Club Champion is Fiona Lockyer, who won the event for the eighth time in a row, with Terina Parker second.

The Ladies’ nett winner was Terina Parker, with Lynn Gridley second, while the winner of the Ladies Bronze nett was Jackie Pike.

The Seniors Champion is Kelvin Oxley, while the net champion is Ian Sutcliffe.

The Senior Ladies competed for the Ladies’ Rose Bowl which is for those aged 60-plus which, due to the very hot weather conditions, was reduced from 18 to nine holes.

Winner of the Senior Ladies’ Rose Bowl 9-Hole Stableford was Vicky Davies with 21 points on countback; Jenny Bevan was second also on 21, while Jenny Powell was third with 20.


THOMAS Horsey has won the Oake Manor Men’s Sunday Medal Competition, scoring an excellent nett 63.

Mark Chapman came second in Division 1 with nett 65, John Ashton was third with nett 67 and Tim Gamlin fourth, also with nett 67.

Steven Pinn won Division 2 with nett 64, Alan Christian second with nett 65, Mick Cawley third with nett 66 and Phillip Troake fourth with nett 68.

Kathy Salway won Division 1 of the Ladies’ Sunday Medal, scoring nett 70.

Nancy Marshall was second with nett 72 and Rosemary Webber third with nett 75.

Pat Snelling won Division 2, scoring nett 68, the best score of the day.

Ladies’ captain Ros Shepherd was second with nett 73.

John Phripp won Division 1 of the Seniors Monday Stableford Competition with a score of 38 .

The next three players also had 38 but, on countback, Phil Gadd came second, Charles St George third and John Greenslade fourth.

Alan Whittaker won Division 2 with 39, the best score of the day.

The next three players all scored 37 but, on countback, Phil Grourk was second, Trevor Cook third and Alex Anthill fourth.

On Tuesday, the Ladies played the local qualifying round for National Ping 4BBB Competition.

Liz How and Ros Shepherd came first with 46 points, Jane Clist and Bev King were second with 42 and Alison Harman and Jenny Musgrove third with 40.

The Ladies also played a fun competition on a hot day in aid of this year’s Captain’s Charity, Brainwave.

They all were dressed in green and raised £183 for Brainwave.

Oake’s trainee Professional, Joe Jewell, hit the ladies’ drive on the second for a donation.

Jeanette Jones made the best use of Jo’s drive to get an eagle three on the 465 yard par five hole.

Kathy Salway won the Charity Trophy with 38.