West of England Premier League
Covid Group C
Taunton Deane 78-2 beat Wembdon 75 by 8 wkts

IT was a weekend to remember for Taunton Deane Cricket Club, as the 1st XI secured top spot in WEPL’s ‘Covid Group C’ and Deane Ladies became champions of Devon.

Saturday’s WEPL finale saw the Deane head to winless Wembdon and come away with an eight-wicket victory.

The hosts opted to bat first, only to lose 10 batsmen for single-figure scores.

Jason Squire (2-19) struck first, removing Dan Bingham for a duck, and 22-3 quickly became 42-8 as Conway Gilbert (2-10) and Calvin Harris (4-6 off seven overs) tore through the Wembdon middle order.

Max Sellick (21*) was in defiant form, but he ran out of partners as the home side were dismissed for 75, in 23.5 overs.

Luke Williams (22) and Charlie Sharland (19) got the Deane past the halfway point of their target, before passing to baton on for Sam Wyatt (3*) and Harrison (24* off 17 balls) to finish the job in just 10.2 overs.

Taunton Deane finish the season on 10 points, the same number as Bridgwater and Taunton, but it is the Deane who are ranked top, on head-to-head record.

Taunton had moved onto 10 points with a five-wicket derby day win over Taunton St Andrews.

Saints elected to bat first, and Louis Kraucamp (51) and Steven Jenkins (62) led the visitors to a total of 224-7 from their 40 overs.

Dan Quick claimed 2-22 off five overs for Taunton, with James Clark bowling tidily for his 1-25 off eight.

The home side were in a little bit of difficulty as they slipped to 31-2, only for Richard Godfrey (64) and Charles Clist (34) to steady the innings.

Rob Contreras (2-31) tried to derail the chase once more, but Will Abell (55* off 38 balls) and Clark (17*) got their side home with five wickets and 10 balls to spare.


SUNDAY saw Taunton Deane Ladies complete a successful first season in the Devon Women’s Cricket League, by winning both games on finals day to clinch the silverware.

Plympton were seen off by 43 runs, setting up a final showdown with Exeter, who made 78-3 from 12 overs (Hannah Hughes taking 2-18).

Madi Bond (26) top scored in the Deane chase, leaving Karla Rose (17*) and captain Laura Currie (6*) (pictured above, with trophy) to reach 80-3 with two balls to spare.