THE fixtures for this summer's women's 50-over and T20 tournaments have now been released, with Western Storm to take part in both competitions.

The regional 50-over competition will once again be called the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy, named in honour of a trailblazer for women's sport who captained England to a Cricket World Cup win in 1973.

It will begin on May 29, with each of the eight teams to play each other once in the group stage, and the final is to be held on September 25.

The team that finishes top of the table following the round-robin matches will qualify for the final, as will the winner of a second versus third play-off.

The Women's Regional T20 is set to commence on June 26, with the eight teams split into two groups of four.

These groups are based on their final standings in the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy last summer, and Western Storm line up in Group B alongside Northern Diamonds, Sunrisers and Thunder.

Each team will play three home and three away matches in the group stage, before Finals Day on September 5.

This summer 41 female players have signed full-time professional domestic contracts, in addition to 17 centrally-contracted England players, while the launch of The Hundred will offer further playing opportunities.

The England & Wales Cricket Board's managing director of women’s cricket, Clare Connor, said: “This promises to be a truly memorable summer of cricket for the women’s game.

“We are not only set to further professionalise the game with more players on full-time contracts than ever before but, crucially, we will showcase our game to more young girls across England and Wales so that they can say cricket is a game for them.

“I am particularly proud that we will continue to move forward with Rachael Heyhoe Flint’s name, with everything she represented for women’s cricket, firmly entrenched in our journey.

“The launch of women’s regional cricket last summer, despite the challenges caused by the pandemic, was another significant step forward for our domestic game.

"We are now looking forward to seeing those regional teams play twice as much cricket this summer with the addition of the T20 competition.”

Western Storm fixtures

Saturday, May 29: Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy - Western Storm v Thunder (Bristol County Ground)

Monday, May 31: Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy - Central Sparks v Western Storm (Edgbaston)

Saturday, June 5: Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy - South East Stars v Western Storm (Kia Oval)

Saturday, June 12: Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy - Western Storm v Southern Vipers (venue tbc)

Saturday, June 26: Women's Regional T20 - Western Storm v Sunrisers (Cooper Associates County Ground, Taunton)

Saturday, July 3: Women's Regional T20 - Thunder v Western Storm (venue tbc)

Saturday, July 10: Women's Regional T20 - Western Storm v Northern Diamonds (County Ground, Taunton)

Wednesday, August 25: Women's Regional T20 - Western Storm v Thunder (Sophia Gardens)

Saturday, August 28: Women's Regional T20 - Northern Diamonds v Western Storm (Emirates Riverside)

Monday, August 30: Women's Regional T20 - Sunrisers v Western Storm (venue tbc)

*Sunday, September 5: Women's Regional T20 - Finals Day (venue tbc)

Friday, September 10: Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy - Northern Diamonds v Western Storm (Riverside)

Sunday, September 12: Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy - Western Storm v Lightning (Bristol County Ground)

Saturday, September 18: Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy - Western Storm v Sunrisers (Bristol County Ground)

*Wednesday, September 22: Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy - Second v third play-off (venue tbc)

*Saturday, September 25: Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy - Final (venue tbc)