TEN years ago this week, the Taunton-based UK Hydrographic Office team were crowned MOD Cross Country champions - for the second year running!

Andy Longthorpe was the star performer at the event, which was staged in North Hampshire, coming third overall in a time of 36:49.

Tom Mellor finished fourth, just 18 seconds further back, and Adam Whaites’ ninth place (37:40) secured the team trophy that UKHO had won for the first time in 2010.

Further success was enjoyed at B team level, with Ian Salter (19th, 43:06), Brian Pearson (23rd, 44:22) and James Wright (30th, 46:49) claiming silver medals.

Other finishers were Rowland Lyons (32nd, 47:35) and Nick Gibbons (33rd, 49:21); Julia Weratshnig was the sole UKHO runner in the women’s race, placing 12th (24:20).

Pictured are: back - Ian Salter, Brian Pearson, Julia Weratshnig, James Wright, Nick Gibbons; front - Adam Whaites, Andy Longthorpe, Tom Mellor.