GALMINGTON Dragons Under-11s claimed cup victory 10 years ago this week, beating Wellington Rovers 5-1 in the Under-11 Cup final.

The match was played at Taunton Town FC’s Wordsworth Drive ground for the first time.

Wellington pushed hard early on, but it was Galmington who broke the deadlock, through Toby Stone in the 28th minute.

The Dragons went on to win 5-1, with Stone completing a hat-trick and Travis Green scoring twice.

Pictured, the Galmington Dragons squad (from left to right): back row - manager John Setherton, coach Dave Chambers; middle - Ross Curry, Connor Milliken, James Mumby, Edward Falkingham, Max Coomber, Max Muggleton-Browning, Chandler Hawkins, Jack Setherton, Travis Green, Alex Puddy-Chambers; front - Luke Simpson, Tom Youngs, Thomas Bowen, Bertie Williams, Toby Stone, Callum Brown, Jamie Woodland, Sam Ward, Tom McKenzie.


PICTURED below are the Norton Fitzwarren Reserves team which secured the Division 2 title in the Taunton Sunday Football League 30 years ago.

Norton had played all of their fixtures by the time the 1990/91 season’s final couple of weekends came around, but their haul of 31 points from 20 games (14 wins, three draws, three losses) meant that they could not be caught at the top.

Somerset County Gazette:

From left to right are: back row - Malcolm Green (secretary), Roger Newberry (player-manager), Martin Turner, Alan Fletcher, Andy Churchill, Paul Shattock, Brian Jones, Gary Elson (club linesman); front - Peter Rossiter, Alan Thomas, Tim Gamlin, Robert Billet, Simon Cook, Eddie Poyntz-Wright, Darren Knowling; players not pictured - Peter Western, Adrian Sproston, Les Taswell, Damon Palfrey.