Winscombe 1 Minehead 1

In their final game of the season Minehead travelled to Winscombe to face the fifth placed side, knowing that a victory would mean they would claim fifth spot for themselves.

The game started with a bit of an end of the season feel to it, but both sides soon settled down and a particularly even and well contested game ensued.

First to go close were the hosts, when Michael Hosey’s header came back off the crossbar but Minehead responded well through an attempt from Zac Ryder which was saved by home custodian Nathan Freeman, followed by a Stefan Phillips shot from a well delivered corner kick which was headed off the goal-line.

Minehead finished the half looking the most likely to ease ahead, but the opening goal of the game did not arrive until midway thought the second half when Benn Bartlett ran through to competently convert a perfect through ball from Phillips. The hosts equalised within five minutes when their experienced striker Michael Flint followed up after keeper Kyran Wilkins had parried a shot.

Minehead came back well and from a pass by substitute Bertie Harvey-Lamar, Benn Bartlett’s shot was well saved by Freeman.

Long term defender Matt Cracknell, a major player for Minehead since August 2009, was making his final game for the club after recently announcing his retirement and was made captain for the day. When Olly Prescott was fouled in the box with fifteen minutes remaining, it was Cracknell who stepped up with the opportunity to finish his Minehead career on a personal high, but sadly his penalty was saved by Freeman.

Moments later the same player almost made amends with a diving header which deserved to win the game, but again the effort was kept out by Freeman.

The last opportunity of the game saw Ryder shoot just over the bar after creating an opportunity for himself.

The result meant Minehead finished in seventh position in the table.

Minehead: Kyran Wilkins, Martyn Phillips, Rob Vickers, Stefan Phillips, Matt Cracknell, Ryan Wilkins, Olly Prescott, Ben Bartlett, Callum Barnfield, Zac Ryder, Matt Trump

Substitutes: Cullen Bruford, Bertie Harvey-Lamar (Used) George Barnfield, Lowell Binnie